Keith Richards: The Last Human Alive

Keith Richard’s thought he was the last human alive. It’s been thousands of years since he last laid eyes on another living soul. He has spent many of these years confined to his brownstone in the upper west side of Manhattan, his needs being served by the A.I. that acts as his jailer and that also wiped out the rest humanity.

His most recurring thought is, “maybe today I will end it all.”

He fights against this solution to his loneliness, but every hundred years or so it gets harder and harder to push the thought away.

Today is his birthday again. He could do the math, but doesn’t feel like it and instead plays the rhythm section to “Sympathy for the Devil.”

As his finger dance along the songs crescendo his door buzzer rings.

Somehow he knows what to expect.

Slowly he lays his guitar down and stands up.

He ambles to the foyer, his smooth leather bottom slippers hissing on the varnished oak wood floor along the way.

Standing in the vestibule he sees a silhouette through the multicolored stain glassed window.

It’s the outline of someone he hoped long dead, but knew otherwise.

Latching the chain he pulls the door open a Crack and peers into the barnacle crusted eyes of Mick Jagger.

“Got any Twinkies, mate?” the gravelly voice pop-star moans pushing his way through the trammeled barricade to face his long-lived nemesis one last time.

Author: Bryan Aiello

I call NYC home and wish the subway went everywhere and Times Square didn't suck. I saw John Turturro once. Maybe it was him. He was wearing a yellow shirt and smiled at me like he knew I knew. I am an Army vet who writes. I like characters who want more then they deserve. I like genre fiction. I love space. I love paladins. One day I might write a paladin in space story. Just you wait. The university of South Florida spit me out with a degree in creative writing and I find myself questioning the sanity of going to a school that advertises a fake beach on its brochure ever since. I intuit grammar. I Got married in 2012 We had twins in 2015. I do a lot of cooking and dog walking and ranting about the unfairness of sentience. You can follow me on Twitter: @bryaiello Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/BryanAiello My Subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Voyage_of_Roadkill/ My Reddit profile: https://www.reddit.com/user/Voyage_of_Roadkill/ Like my work? Become a patron at: https://www.patreon.com/BryanAiello

2 thoughts on “Keith Richards: The Last Human Alive”

Leave a Reply

